Brown Smokey Eye {UD Naked Palette}

I have talked a few times about how much I love my Urban Decay- Naked Basics 2 Eyeshadow Palette. And so I thought I would show you guys my favorite way to wear these shadows. This definitely isn’t an everyday look for me, because of my pale skin, it can sometimes look out of place or way to dark for my whiter than white face :0)

Photo on 5-16-16 at 8.13 PM

Before I start, I do use my Urban Decay Potion Eyelid Primer. This really does make a difference in reducing if not eliminating creasing, smudging and keeping everything in place all day or night. This also gives the shadows something to stick to, sometimes I have oily eyelids (sometimes dry) and shadow just doesn’t want to hold on.

I also tight-line with a charcoal liner before I start. This just helps fill in the space in between my lashes.  When I put on my mascara, I hate to see empty spaces in my lashes :0) Personal preference. My current favorite charcoal liner is also from Urban Decay- it is their Easy Glide charcoal crayon liner.

Now for the shadow itself. I am using the Urban Decay Naked Basics 2 Palette. This is a smaller palette than the normal Naked, but any set of brown eye shadows will work for this look!

Urban Decay Naked.jpgTo start I apply #2 Stark as a base. This just helps the other shadows go on easier when there is a simple coat on the lid. This will also help the other shades show up better without as many layers.

To begin building the smokiness I apply # 5 Primal all over my lid- inner corner to outer corner, lash line up to my crease; using ELF’s eye shadow brush. Sometimes this takes a few coats to get my desired darkness but using this brush helps me put on more product in a single coat.

Once I get a basic coat of the brown I then take #6 Undone and apply it just to the outer corner of my eyes using ELF’s angled shadow brush. This helps give that smokey effect. I then take a clean brush and blend the dark Undone color and blend it into my crease.This helps bring all the colors together, and eliminating harsh separation in the shadows.

I then take #1 Skimp and apply it to the to the inner corner of my eye and blend it into the center of my eye. This just helps brighten it up, and by blending it into the other colors, again helps make it look more natural.

Once I have the desired look, I take a jet black liquid eyeliner and create a nice wined liner.  My favorite Jet Black Liner is from ELF. I am a fan of the brush tips over the felt ones, and the fine brush from ELF allows me to make a precise line and wing. Sometimes if I don’t want the harshness of the black liner in my brown smokey eye, I will use ELF’s brown liquid liner. I finish the look off with a few coats of mascara and a nice light lip.

What do you think? What’s your favorite way to wear these shades? Do you have a look similar to this?

 

 

Leave a Reply

